Job Title vs Actual duties - Does it match?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by danielno8, Mar 2, 2009.

1. danielno8

danielno8 Gigabyte Poster

Hello,

I am working in my first job from uni, as IT Assistant. I have been doing so for 1 year 3 months now, and i feel my duties have drifted somewhat to a point where i don't feel the job title suitably reflects the the work i do - looking for your thoughts whether you think this is so or not.

I currently work on all the servers, resolve problems/migrate/set up/patch etc. Servers include:

Exchange
    BES
    DC
    Interscan Messaging Security Suite
    File/Print
    VMware ESX
    LeftHand SAN/iQ
    SQL 2005

I also respond to all desktop support calls, image new PC's, set up video conferences. I have also installed and configured 3 ASA 5510's to remote offices.

What are your thoughts on this?

Thanks
    Daniel

Certifications: CCENT, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  2. craigie

craigie Terabyte Poster

From the sounds of it you are doing 1st - 3rd Line Support.

Certifications: CCA | CCENT | CCNA | CCNA:S | HP APC | HP ASE | ITILv3 | MCP | MCDST | MCITP: EA | MCTS:Vista | MCTS:Exch '07 | MCSA 2003 | MCSA:M 2003 | MCSA 2008 | MCSE | VCP5-DT | VCP4-DCV | VCP5-DCV | VCAP5-DCA | VCAP5-DCD | VMTSP | VTSP 4 | VTSP 5
  3. danielno8

Yes as there is just me and my boss in the IT dept, job duties do range, but its in the last 6-10 month have been in almost complete control of any server upgrades/installs/fault resolution.

Just wondering if i am jumping the gun by saying anything about my role at the minute as i have not been in the job so long, and whether if i moved jobs would i get a 2nd line 3rd line position with only a years experience.

4. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Mr. IT Person... lol, but maybe IT Administrator? As like craigie already stated, its sounds like your job role covers more than one tier.