Job Interview Tips please.

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by jamin100, Jun 2, 2009.

1. jamin100

jamin100 Byte Poster

Hi Guys,

Bit about me...

Currently working in the education sector for a 2 form entry primary school with just over 500 users.
    I'm the ICT Technician (26) and have 5 S2k3 servers, 150 XP client machines, IWB's, printers etc. I've been working in schools as IT Technician for just under 7 years. I have no technical certifications though

I've got an interview this Friday for the position of ICT Manager at a prestigious high school in my area. Its more of a managerial role as the successful candidate will be managing 3 full time technicians, ICT budget, ICT policies and the overall performance of the network and many more things i imagine.

The interviewing school have already requested references from the details on my application form and I have to fill in a CRB before the interview and take it with me on Friday. Is this normal practice to ask for all of this before the interview? As far as im aware these are things that are usually asked for after the interview has taken place.

The interview starts mid morning with the usual task, technical interview and final interview. Does anyone have any advice they can offer me? I'm not too fussed about the technical side of things as in the past i've done really well in the little tests they set. Its just the actual interview bit that I feel i let myself down on.

I've very little managerial experience in IT, although i was a floor manager at mcdonalds whilst i was at college, but in IT i started at the bottom. I'm only 26, do you think that my age will go against me for this position and perhaps they would be looking for someone with a little more life experience?

Sorry for the long post, just starting to get a little nervous now . . . .

Thanks in advance

WIP: 70-680
  2. Jiser

Jiser Kilobyte Poster

www.edugeek.net - look there for tips.