Job Hunting - What am I doing wrong?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Ciscoppl, Apr 26, 2007.

1. Ciscoppl

Ciscoppl New Member

Hi Everyone

This is my first post however I ve been reading posts on this forum for a while now and I can tell you that they’ve been very informative.

Let me start by telling you guys a little about myself. I am an IT graduate and passed my CCNA few months back. I did my CCNA as I really want to build a career within the Cisco networking environment and after some experience go on to tackle the CCNP certification exams.

Now I ve been job hunting for 2 months now. So far I ve only had 1 interview call. I used to get calls from recruitment agencies at first but even they have quietened down lately. Some days go by without a single phone call. Now I am not looking for a high paid/high responsibility job, I am just looking for a entry level/getting my foot in the door kinda job where I can learn and build from there but I don’t seem to be getting anywhere. Nobody seems to be giving me a chance. Maybe my job hunting techniques are wrong or maybe I am going about it the wrong way. That’s where I need you help guys.

I apply for 10-20 jobs per day. The main sites I visit are: www.cwjobs.co.uk, www.jobserve.com, www.monster.co.uk, http://www.jobsite.co.uk, http://www.itjobpages.co.uk + few more. Are these good sites to look at for your first job? The keywords I use to search for potential jobs are CCNA, Cisco, Network Support, Helpdesk, 1st line. Are these appropriate keywords to be using for someone with my background? Am I on the right path cause it sure doesn’t feel like it. Am I missing something? I ve also sent my CV to companies and applied for their graduate programmes but no joy there either. I ve also had my CV professionally looked at cause at one point I thought its my CV.