Job hopping

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by jcb, Aug 25, 2006.

1. jcb

jcb New Member

I'm in a more fortunate position then most others, however the grass isn't always greener on the other side. It's like a never ending battle. First you try to get your foot in the door, then you try to keep it there and move up. Nightmare.

I graduated 2 years ago, I've already had 3 permanent jobs and now looking to move onto my 4th one.

Job#1 - It took me ages to find a job, I finally found something in IT support/networking but after 3 months the company went bust and I was made redundant.

Job#2 - I manage to find a job with another small software house developing in C++ and manage to stay there for 8 months. But then I quit cos Job#3 came along and I thought it'll be a great career move.

Job#3 - I've been working with this bigger company for 5 months, however the job is so dull and I'm annoyed because what was promised isn't going to be materialised. What was promised at the interview and written on the job spec is a bunch of lies. I was told they'll be migrating to .NET, they will start developing more products in C#, there are always new C++ projects, I will have the opportunity to do a MCAD/MCSD certification. I thought it'll be the perfect developer graduate job. But there's hardly any new projects coming in, no sign of moving to .NET, no opportunity to learn C#. I spend all day supporting end users rather than doing development. And when there is something to develop, it's not challenging enough. I'm not learning anything.

I'm trying to apply for a new job, spoken to a few recruitment agencies and they all say my CV is a bit patchy, it looks like I can't stay in a job for too long.

Should I stick this job out? How should I sell myself if I do get an interview? I don't want to be seen in a negative light. :dry

Any advice much appreciated!

2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster