ITIL certs

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Colin1, Mar 3, 2008.

1. Colin1

Colin1 Byte Poster

Morning,

I was just wandering if having an ITIL cert would be worthwhile? obviously having certs is always a good thing but in the context of my future plans I wasnt sure if it was worth going for it. I am currently studying for my A+ Nd soon my N+. I have have seen a few jobs that have interested me recently and most of them are requiring exprirence in this area. Any suggestions on how an ITIL cert will improve my situation.

Cheers

C :D

Certifications: Cisco IT Essentials,
    WIP: IT degree, CIW (Web), A+, N+
  2. zebulebu

zebulebu Terabyte Poster

Depends on your definition of 'worthwhile'.

If you mean 'worthwhile' as in - 'useful for your CV', then yes - depending on the type of role you're going for. It will certainly be of use to you in local government, councils and anywhere else where there are ten people (badly) doing the job of one person and an equal number of people in a layer above them trying to justify their promotion to management grades despite not having any technical skill.

If you mean 'worthwhile' as in 'will it teach me anything useful', then no.

ITIL is one of those management framework things, invented by people in middle IT management to keep them in jobs. I don't need a course, certification or badge to tell me its a bad idea to reboot a production server in the middle of the day.

I had to do it at my last job with the Old Bill and it gave me the hump.

Certifications: A few
    WIP: None - f*** 'em
  3. skulkerboyo

skulkerboyo Megabyte Poster

I largely agree with zeb here. I recently passed itil and dont see much need for it for myself at my level. i was sent on it through my job and basically only cos we got a new director who's big on it (although nothing actually seems to be changing as a result)