IT Management masters

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by stevefr, Jun 13, 2009.

1. stevefr

stevefr Bit Poster

Hello CertForums,
    I am looking for some advice from you knowledgable people. My name is Steve, I am 25 years old and have a degree in computing. I have been working for about 2 years in desktop support and am now thinking about going back to university to pursue a masters in IT for management. Is it worthwhile for me to do this...as I want to go into management. Steve.

Certifications: mcp
    WIP: mcts
  2. UKDarkstar
    Honorary Member

UKDarkstar Terabyte Poster

Depends what sort of "management" you want really and what the course is going to offer you. Most managerial positions will probably want you to have much more work experience. Do you want to stay in support ? If so look at ITIL V3 which may be more useful or HDI.

Certifications: BA (Hons), MBCS, CITP, MInstLM, ITIL v3 Fdn, PTLLS, CELTA
    WIP: CMALT (about to submit), DTLLS (on hold until 2012)
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Is it worthwhile to get your Masters? Me personally I would say yes. Will it get you into management? There's no guarantee, experience is the key.

I'm an IT manager and I don't have my MSc/MA/MBA, in fact most of the IT managers that I know don't have their Masters. However I'm looking into it for higher level IT management positions.

To be honest, I would recommend building your way up. You've stated that you've worked in Desktop Support for two years now. Why not start moving up to Server/Network support or look at team leading? Have you thought about doing the NVQ's in Team leading then Management? It's cheaper, and hopefully your company will pay for most/all of it.

Like UKD already said look into ITIL, also look into Prince2/Project Management as these are skills that are looked for. HDI/SDI certs if you want to go into Helpdesk/Servicedesk management.

-Ken