IT Management Career

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Noodlez, Aug 1, 2006.

1. Noodlez

Noodlez New Member

Hi all, I've been lurking round here for a bit so I thought I'd introduce myself.

I'm 29 years old with a HND Business IT, BA(Hons) Business Management but no practical IT experience. When I graduated about 5 years ago I got sucked into a retail sales job and more recently to an instore retail operations manager position looking after a team of 12. I'm sick and tired of dealing with rude, abusive and demanding people (anyone who has worked in retail will know how rude and arrogant the general public can be!) and would really like to get into an IT Management Role as I originally intended.

I'm a firm believer in working my way up from the bottom so I plan on the usual A+, Network+ etc and the unpaid voluntary work to gain experience but I would really appreciate any advice but especially from any IT managers out there. Thanks in advance!

WIP: A+
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

You're just gona love IT then! :eek:

Welcome to CF! :biggrin

3. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Welcome aboard, good luck with the A+.

Si

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  4. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Hi there and welcome to CF. As simon said in a roundabout way that you'll get the same in IT. Then again at times I have been accused of being one of those rude arrogant people in my youth :D

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  5. mattwest

mattwest Megabyte Poster

Hi there...

I'm actually the opposite to you.... in IT and looking to get into management!

Thats why i've recently passed (woohoo) my team leading certificate college course and doing an ITIL course soon.