IT JOB INTERVIEW HELP!!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by gream0604, Jul 20, 2008.

1. gream0604

gream0604 New Member

Hey guys,

I have an interview for an IT technician at a local school on wednesday. I have no experience in working in IT, but have good knowledge of hardware etc.

I have just been sent an email stating that i have to do a tak where i have to log onto the local computer of a networked machine to retrieve a file saved on the hard drive of the machine. Would i do this by choosing (local) at the logon screen and use the username and password provided, or is there another way it should be done??

Would be great for some advice/help??

Thanks alot guys

2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

They might give you log on credentials so dont stress about that. 8)

If they dont then try to log on locally with the username 'administrator' with a blank password. The amount of times I find PCs setup like that is a joke :ohmy

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

I agree with Sparky! Try the using Administor as the password and leave the password blank!

But they should give you the Administrator Password after all it doesn't matter how much experience or certs you have in IT. Every system is different(or at least we would like to think so) and you can not learn this through studying.