ISTQB - Software Testing

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Mikeyboy, Mar 18, 2008.

1. Mikeyboy

Mikeyboy Kilobyte Poster

Just wondered, does anyone here know anything about / work in testing?

Spoke to a friend earlier who is an experienced software tester, and he suggested I look into the ISTQB certificate, and then look to get some work doing that.. bear in mind I have ZERO experience in the IT industry, just wondering what people think of it? I am happy to put the work in and learn it, he said it's pretty simple... Im currently going for my MCDST so I'd probably wait 'til after I've done that

Also does anyone know any good study guides, I've found this one:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/1844809897/ref=pd_luc_mri?_encoding=UTF8&m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE

Certifications: VCP,MCSA, MCP, MCDST, MCITP, MCTS, A+, N+
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

One question for you: if you want to work in software testing, why are you doing support based certifications?

Apart from that, BosonMicheal (alone with others) actually works in developing software programs so he's one of the best people to answer your post.

As for certs, you may want to look at the ISEB cert, or any of these on this site.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. Mikeyboy

Mikeyboy Kilobyte Poster

I know it sounds a bit backwards, but I started doing the support certifications as I'm fairly good with Windows and problem solving in general, so seemed like a logical route to follow - but this is obviously a very competitive market, so I don't see any real harm in giving this a go too, my friend reckoned I could get a job in it quite easily, but I'm sure it wont be all that easy...