Is there any money in self-employed computer repair?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Juelz, Sep 5, 2015.

1. Juelz

Juelz Gigabyte Poster

I saw a video on YouTube where this guy was discouraging people from setting up repair shops/mobile repair due to his own experience. His main argument was that computers have become so inexpensive that people just go out and buy a new one. Do you agree with this? I'm not sure as I have no knowledge of the industry but I'd imagine there is abit of truth in it? I often wonder how my local repair shop is still around as they are never busy and only offer computer repair no phones or tablets. I do know one guy who went into mobile repair and said he was barely surviving, I think it's probably down to stiff competition and what the man in the video said about people just buying new machines.

Any thoughts?

2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

A few years ago I was out of work for over 6 months, things were getting tough and I decided to start my own PC Repair Business.
    I spent out money on a new number, website and business cards, I posted about 1000 cards through doors over a couple of weekends, that was a lot of walking and time and effort.

My fees (which were posted back in 2009) were on par with other businesses of the same type and were less than PC World was charging for the same services (I know, I checked).

With all that time\effort and hard work I managed to get a total of two clients, I in no way broke even with how much I paid out in various fees and in fact even with the site still running now (although not the mobile) I still haven't had any callers requesting services.

I can tell you that I certainly wouldn't advise people to try doing this as their only means of income because they would soon starve to death.
    It's just not worth it these days.