Is there any MCTS/MCITP certification for F# yet?

Discussion in 'Scripting & Programming' started by CautiousChap, Apr 30, 2011.

1. CautiousChap

CautiousChap New Member

Hi,
    Hope I'm not duplicating another thread but I can't seem to find one. (On reflection, the search term "f#" probably isn't a good place to start though).

Basically I'm curious re functional programming. However, I don't want to go off into some sort of cul-de-sac with Haskell, OCaml or other functional languages if they're stand-alone hobby languages that don't have the potential for deployment in a workplace context.

I'm looking at F# simply because it is part of the .NET circus, but I don't want to take on this additional challenge if there isn't any prospect of it counting towards a MCTS or MCITP certification. I couldn't find anything specifically to do with F# on the Microsoft certification site, so thought I'd better ask here.

My background? Some rudimentary knowledge of OOP. (I'm currently studying a course in Java. I have also make a cursory attempt at getting the basics of C# via the Mono project but have decided to focus my object-oriented programming efforts on Java). I'd hope that functional programming could help me develop a different perspective on programming, without having to go back to procedural programming basics.

WIP: MCTS, MCITP, BSc in Computing
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

No there is no MCTS on F# also there is no MCTS on Powershell, theres not even really C# or SQL exams, you see Microsoft don't really do programming certifications. The few MS 'programming' certifications that exist test on tools and frameworks mainly.

I don't think OCaml is a 'hobby language'. All functional languages seem to be limited in their appeal, most popular languages are multi-paradigm.

F# is pretty niche too, far better to learn C# if you want to stay mainstream.

C# now has LINQ and Lamdas, so it has some functional concepts.