Is the MCDST right for me?

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by Shaneo85, Aug 25, 2010.

1. Shaneo85

Shaneo85 New Member

Hi guys, new member here so I apologise if this has been written in the wrong section.

I'm looking to train to get into the computing industry. I'm very good with troubleshooting problems such as virus issues, malware, install/uninstall, networking, file locations etc. I also know a fair bit on the hardware side of things such as how to build a PC. I've been the family 'techie' for about 8 years now and their always banging on how I should be doing it for a living. All of my knowledge is purely based on home computers though - I've never worked on an office network or anything like that.

What I'd like to know is, with the information above, does anyone think I might be a candidate for the MCDST?

The second thing I'd like to know is how the MCDST is looked at in terms of getting a job. I only have 3 GCSE's grade CCD in English Maths and ICT. Would an employer usually want a degree as well as a MCDST or is it enough to secure a job on it's own? I'm 24 and living in the UK and have never officially worked in a job with computers.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Shane

Last edited: Aug 25, 2010
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

generally the starting certifications are:compTIA A+, compTIA Network+ and MCDST.

A few things you should be aware of:

If you do not pass the A+ and network+ by december 31st you will have re-sit them every three years to remain certified.

The MCDST is being retired in March so if you want to be certified in it then you need to pass it by then.

There are other certs you can do which is MCTS and MCITP which are based around vista and windows 7 depending on which exams you do.

The A+ covers the basics of hardware and software. 2 exams
    The N+ covers Networking. 1 exam.