Is MTA 98-366 Network Fundamentals still worth studying?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by 3ter, Sep 9, 2017.

1. 3ter

3ter New Member

Hi there,
    I am new to the field. I was told to do this exam to get a good basic understanding of networking.
    Quite a lot of concepts are really outdated and in the Microsoft forums BornToLearn I find myself unable to post so I think this MTA is rather dead.

Is there a newer Network Fundamentals course by Microsoft?
    Or do you still suggest to start with this MTA?

Regards,
    3ter

2. Juelz

Juelz Gigabyte Poster

Yes its worth doing if you are unfamiliar with networking, it introduces you to the basic concepts which are indeed still used today such as TCP/IP, LANS the OSI Model etc etc. The little I know about networking, I learned from the exam content of this cert (didnt actually sit the exam but thinking of doing so) There isn't a newer MS Networking fundamentals cert currently so you may want to divert to the Comptia N+.

3ter likes this.
  3. 3ter

3ter New Member

Thanks a ton for your answer @Juelz !
    I am going to sit the exam! And afterwards I am going to think about the Comptia certs which seem appealing.

You just fostered my industry to put energy into my preparation!

Cheers,
    3ter

4. Juelz

Juelz Gigabyte Poster

No problem, I am currently thinking of taking this exam now its ore relevant to my new job role. Currently using PluralSight then plan to watch through the ITPROTV videos and top it off with the official MS book, hoping to get this and the server MTA done by end of this year.

Last edited: Sep 14, 2017
  5. Pseudonym

Pseudonym Kilobyte Poster