is IT for me.

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by the_beast, Oct 2, 2007.

1. the_beast

the_beast Bit Poster

i have a degree in economics but i dont want to go into finance. ive always been interested in IT , but will i be good at it? what is the best way to find out?

thank you

2. Rob1234

Rob1234 Megabyte Poster Forum Leader

I'm afraid I can not answer that as all I know about you is two lines. To see whether you would like IT you could try some volunteering work.

Certifications: A few.
  3. nXPLOSi

nXPLOSi Terabyte Poster

If your passionate about working in IT, and your hardworking, you will excel in IT.

Best way to find out if your passionate and hardworking is to try and study for the A+ for example, and see if you enjoy doing it!

Certifications: A+, Network+, Security+, MCSA 2003 (270, 290, 291), MCTS (640, 642), MCSA 2008
    WIP: MCSA 2012
  4. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Rob's response is accurate: there's no way for us to guarantee that you, specifically, will do well in IT.

That said, if you truly enjoy working with computers... tearing them apart and putting them back together... then you'd likely enjoy IT. And people who enjoy IT tend to do well.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  5. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

You could alway try to get into IT in the finance industry. Up our way there are 2 finance software houses that are always looking for IT techs that have finance knowledge to support their products that they develop.

It's an option :)

-ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security