Is entry level actually that nowadays???

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Timostag, Jul 6, 2010.

1. Timostag

Timostag Bit Poster

Ive been applying for just about every "entry level" support/helpdesk role from Edinburgh to Southampton for months, but I haven't had a thing no phone calls, interviews anything!

I keep telling myself to stick at it and eventually something will turn up, just play the numbers game.

Do you think its a case of my CV /skills aren't good enough or is it the fact that people with years of experience are going for the "entry level" jobs that I am because of the state of the job market at the moment.

Below is a copy of the CV I have been sending out ( I am also studying the MCDST cert in my spare time but havent added that anywhere until I pass it).

Please tell me what you think

CURRICULUM VITAE
    Timothy Marron
    Mobile: 07xxxxxxxxxxx
    Email: Timostagsxxxxxxxxxx
    Nationality: British

Key Skills

• Eagerness to learn and gain new skills.
    • Commended on telephone manner
    • Systematic problem solver, with a passion for IT
    • Exceptional interpersonal and communication skills
    • Proven customer service skills

Professional Experience

Sugar Suite Ltd
    May2008 – Present
    Supervisor
    My duties and responsibilities include;
    • Setting up and opening the bar ensuring we are prepared for the day ahead
    • Answer customer enquiries over the phone and e-mail, keeping clients informed
    • Ensure customers entering the bar area, receive a friendly welcome from the team
    • I am called upon as first point of call whenever IT problems occur
    • I have shown flexibility of my hours to cover absences

Bank Fashion
    August 2007 – May 2008
    Supervisor
    My duties and responsibilities included;
    • Resolving customer complaints in the absence of the store manager
    • Informing the area manager of store information such as store sales figures via email and over the phone