IRQ queery

Discussion in 'A+' started by robbo1962, Apr 8, 2006.

1. robbo1962

robbo1962 Byte Poster

Hi all, i am studying the IRQ section and have come up against a problem , as you know each peripheral has a IRQ number to communicate with the CPU, my problem is this, in the days when computers sometimes had 2 floppy disk drives how would you transfer data from one to the other given that there was only 1 IRQ assigned to the floppy drive (IRQ 6) as they both use the same interface, as far as i know there is no master/slave settings for floppys.Thanks in advance robbo1962

Certifications: A+
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Actualy - there is - sort of. Floppies have a setting to drive 0 or drive 1. The twist that was in the old cables was there to 'swap' the drive numbers. This was a trick started by IBM - they made all drives drive 1 and used the twist so that the drive number as it appeared to the controller depended on where on the cable the drive was plugged.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. hbroomhall

Note that the Meyers book has a photo of the twisted cable, but doesn't really fully explain what is happening!

Harry.

4. robbo1962

robbo1962 Byte Poster

ok thanks for taking the time to answer, a bit clearer than i could find in the book. still not totally convinced that you dont need two seperate IRQ addresses,can't understand why they still produce 2 interfaces for the floppy drive anyway

5. hbroomhall

There is only *one* controller for *both* floppy drives. It is the controller that needs the IRQ, hence only one. This mirrors the situation with IRQ14 which handles the first IDE controller. That controller also handles two drives.

I'm not sure what you mean by "still produce 2 interfaces for the floppy drive", but the main reason with supporting this stuff is legacy. It is still possible to make a PC with 2 floppies.

Harry.

6. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster