1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IP CONFLICT

Discussion in 'Networks' started by UCHEEKYMONKEY, Sep 12, 2007.

  1. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

    UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

    4,140
    58
    214
    Q)Is it possible to have two PC's on a AD sever with the same IP address?:blink

    When connecting to network a message pops up from the task bar stating IP conflict?? The only way around it is if I use the command IPconfig/release, then manually insert ip address.

    However if the PC is switched off/cold rebooted the same message appears??:blink
     
    Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

    simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

    6,199
    125
    199
    A) Yes it is possible, but you don't want it to happen as it causes all sorts of confusion!

    Do you know what the other device with the same IP address is?

    :blink
     
  3. zebulebu

    zebulebu Terabyte Poster

    3,748
    330
    187
    Cheeks

    Sounds like a DHCP issue. You've probably got a static IP somewhere on your network without the requisite reservation/exclusion in DHCP. Seems as if the DHCP server is doling out IP addresses and is trying to allocate the statically assigned address to another client.
     
    Certifications: A few
    WIP: None - f*** 'em
  4. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

    UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

    4,140
    58
    214
    I have checked with networks and they say the 128 address, (I'm not sure if I should post the full address on an open forum??) is only binded to that one PC??

    I have been instructed to re-install windows, I can't see how this will make a difference because the operating system is loaded from a RIS server and the ip address is given automatically by the AD server??:(
     
    Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  5. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

    UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

    4,140
    58
    214
    So how do you get around this?? Would you reset the server?

    Would this result in crashing the rest of the network or is there another way:blink
     
    Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  6. ajs1976

    ajs1976 Byte Poster

    108
    5
    27
    Shut the PC down that is giving you the conflict error. go to another PC and ping the IP address and see if you get a response.
     
    Certifications: MCSE, CCEA, Sec+, L+, N+
    WIP: 2008, CAG, or CCENT (not sure)
  7. AJ

    AJ Administrator Administrator

    6,771
    102
    221
    We get this occasionally with network printers. The only way to resolve this is to switch the printer off and on again.
     
    Certifications: MCSE, MCSA (messaging), ITIL Foundation v3
    WIP: Looking at doing ..................
  8. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

    UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

    4,140
    58
    214
    I tried that AJ, 3 times and still it said there was a conflict.:blink
     
    Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  9. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

    UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

    4,140
    58
    214
    Thanks I will try that!:thumbleft
     
    Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  10. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

    10,189
    296
    319
    Can you get access to the DHCP scope on the server? If so you can configure it to ping an IP address (to check it is not allocated) before it leases the IP, this is handy if you are having problems with IP conflicts. 8)
     
    Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Exchange 2007\2010
  11. Fergal1982

    Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster

    4,196
    171
    211
    if you do get a response with the machine shut down whilst pinging it, try typing

    Code:
    nbtstat -a 192.168.0.1
    
    Obviously substituting the IP in the example for the specific IP you are looking at.

    If you're lucky, you will get something like this:

    Code:
    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.0.1] Scope Id: []
    
               NetBIOS Remote Machine Name Table
    
           Name               Type         Status
        ---------------------------------------------
        FERGAL-DESKTOPN<00>  UNIQUE      Registered
        WORKGROUP      <00>  GROUP       Registered
        FERGAL-DESKTOPN<20>  UNIQUE      Registered
        WORKGROUP      <1E>  GROUP       Registered
        WORKGROUP      <1D>  UNIQUE      Registered
        ..__MSBROWSE__.<01>  GROUP       Registered
    
        MAC Address = nn-nn-8D-nn-DC-nn
    
    This will tell you the machine name (fergal-desktopn), and the mac address of the machine holding that IP.

    It doesnt always work. Some servers dont respond to it, but it might help you narrow things down.
     
    Certifications: ITIL Foundation; MCTS: Visual Studio Team Foundation Server 2010, Administration
    WIP: None at present
  12. zebulebu

    zebulebu Terabyte Poster

    3,748
    330
    187
    If you're looking for the physical location of a machine holding an IP address, you could also ping it, then run arp -a from a command prompt, take a note of the MAC address, then, provided you have access to your switches, take a look at the MAC table and see which physical switch port the device is connected to. Y

    ou might then have to do some tracing back across your patch panels, but this extremely low-tech method of finding a physical device has saved me in the past :)
     
    Certifications: A few
    WIP: None - f*** 'em
  13. derkit

    derkit Gigabyte Poster

    1,479
    54
    112
    We don't access to the DHCP servers nor the switches so we either pass it to another team (if they have time they'll do it) or we are told to do a rebuild using a RIS server - and that works.
     
    Certifications: MBCS, BSc(Hons), Cert(Maths), A+, Net+, MCDST, ITIL-F v3, MCSA
    WIP: 70-293

Share This Page

Loading...