Interview Frustrations

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by happystew, Aug 3, 2011.

1. happystew

happystew Bit Poster

Hello,

Today i received another "I'm sorry but" letter after failing another Interview.

A bit of background, I'm a university graduate with a Honours degree in Computing and Network Support and currently working for over 2 years now at my local council doing Service Desk/First line support. I have been looking for other jobs mostly due to the low pay of 15k a year.

Today, i sat down and worked out that 7 Interviews i have attended, i have only been offered only one post (i never took the job due to it being a temporary contract). So that's six fails, it's starting to get frustrating. I must be doing something wrong.

It's all good getting the Interviews, but when i get there it seems that i'm doing something wrong. One major flaw maybe my lack of driving license, which i also seem to be good at failing :blink

Anyway, has anyone got any advice for the next interview that comes along if I'm lucky enough to get one?

I e-mailed the latest company that where i was "unsuccessful" and requested some feedback, hopefully that will shed some light on my inadequacies.

I think i'm going to try and Study for some certs again also, and maybe try and pass my driving test....

Any help appreciated

Stew

Certifications: Bsc Hons Computer & Network Support
    WIP: MCITP
  2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

Lack of a driving license may well be a turn off for many recruiters - but they would know about that from your CV or application form. It's unlikely that's why you are being rejected.

Interviews can come down to so many things, it's not worth dwelling on what you may be doing wrong. There are plenty of websites out there which give detailed information about what you should try doing right, it's better to focus on that.