Information not covered by study materials

Discussion in 'A+' started by tallpaul, Feb 21, 2008.

1. tallpaul

tallpaul Bit Poster

I am currently studying A+ using Mike myers "all in one" & "A+ 2006 In Depth" by Jean Andrews.
    I am noticing some discrepencies between some things that one book covers & the other doesn't.
    For instance, the XP Dependency Walker tool is covered in Jean Andrews's book but not the Mike Meyers.

Has anyone who took the A+ been caught off-guard by any questions on topics they hadn't studied for?
    (assuming you studied properly,i mean -not just winged it!)

Any specifics?

allways best to be prepared in my opinion-especially with the exams looming in a couple of weeks.

Ta very much.

Certifications: Nothing spoddy,all electrickery so far
    WIP: a+
  2. GiddyG

GiddyG Terabyte Poster Gold Member

Simple answer: No. The Meyers AIO 6th Edition, James Pyles PC Technician Street Smarts, and the Meyers A+ Passport 3rd edition were good enough for me. I also went to a TP, but let's not go there (it didn't help, it was the books that did it).

3. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I found that the AIO had *more* in it than required by the exams I took. But that is just one person. Others may find the odd question not really covered.

And, IMHO, that Dependency Walker tool is somewhat beyond the scope. :biggrin

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  4. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

It's not terribly unusual for an author to include a piece of information that they think is important, even if it most likely won't be on the exam. Jean Andrews is probably trying to be helpful by suggesting a tool she thinks PC techs will find useful *in real life*. :wink:

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  5. tallpaul

tallpaul Bit Poster

I think you are probably right about that,Trip.Her book does seem to be slightly more detailed than the All-In-One.