Info needed

Discussion in 'A+' started by Atari, Aug 13, 2009.

1. Atari

Atari Bit Poster

Hiya,

I already work in I.T (web development) but I've been working with PC hardware for 10+ years (system builds/repairs/upgrades/diagnostics) and Windows since 3.11.

I'd like to have something on my C.V that just shows I'm capable in this area, I'm not really looking to change career.

A few questions:

- How hard is the course/exam? Is this more suited to those just entering the industry without prior knowledge?
    - Is the CompTIA just one course + exam?
    - Are there multiple version of this course/exam (old & new)?
    - Can I do all the study myself and then book the exam myself?
    - Are there any (free) sites where I can test my existing knowledge?

2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Most info is answered on the Comptia site Good luck!

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  3. Josiahb

Josiahb Gigabyte Poster

- How hard is the course/exam? Is this more suited to those just entering the industry without prior knowledge?

The A+ is designed for entry level techs, anyone with a decent level of experience shouldn't find it to challenging.

- Is the CompTIA just one course + exam?

No 'course' is necessary to sit the A+ and its 2 exams.

- Are there multiple version of this course/exam (old & new)?

There are currently 2 versions, 2006 and 2009. The 2009 objectives are (obviously) very new and so there isn't a lot of training material available.

- Can I do all the study myself and then book the exam myself?

Definitely, self study is the best way to go with the A+ (IMO) and the exams can be booked directly with either Prometric or Pearson Vue

- Are there any (free) sites where I can test my existing knowledge?

http://www.proprofs.com/ have got some practice tests you can have a crack at and some of the practice test vendors offer free trials of their software that will at least give you an idea of where you stand.