In school for CSIS, but want an IT job for right now...

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by El Kabong, Jan 31, 2006.

1. El Kabong

El Kabong New Member

Hey everyone, I just wanted to say thanks for maintaining such a great board, this is the best one I've found yet! However, I do have a question about IT-related jobs. I'm currently a freshman at a four-year university, majoring in Computer Science. At my school, this degree is more geared toward programming. I wouldn't mind going into programming, but I am a former automotive mechanic, and I miss working with my hands. I'm beginning to work on getting my A+ cert, I'm going to buy Mike Meyer's book this week, and start studying for it. I currently work for my school, but I'm not sure that it's where I want to be. Ideally, I would love to find some mom and pop computer shop and work there, hopefully for about 7-9 bucks an hour, fixing computers. I have a lot of informal experience, but hardly any formal experience. I've built three computers for friends, set up 4 wireless networks (also for friends... god I wish that counted as experience!). Just basic stuff like that. However, I would love to get a job at a place like that, and get as much experience as I can. What would be the best "plan of attack"? I'm planning on just visiting as many in my area as I can, and hopefully someone will be interested. Is this a similar approach to how yall got into it? Thanks a lot ahead of time, and keep up the good work!

2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Well, to be honest, I would stay right where you are for now. I am not sure of the set up at the school you work for but most schools have a fairly complex network of computers. Chances are you will get more hands on experience there than at a local PC shop. The work you are doing for the school will count as experience!