In need of advise

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by teixeira.jpt, Jan 22, 2011.

1. teixeira.jpt

teixeira.jpt Bit Poster

Hi guy's,

I'm a bit stuck at the moment i been reading a few forums now and opinions seem divided on paths to take etc so here is where i'm at.

Experience: I have some experience repairing (installing, configurations etc) and building computers for 1 year + mainly on a personal level family, freinds and one or two small business nothing major.

Certifications: A+, CCENT

I decided i was going to take the ICND2 at a later date and obtain the CCNA as it seems a bit pointless to get such an advanced qualification until i start getting some experience on a bigger scale.

Next on my list is gonna be MS cert's MCSE which i will upgrade to a mcitp enterprise and possbily and ITIL cert lot of job postings at the moment seem to be asking for it.

Now i know i must find a balance between experience and certifications i have been looking for volunteering opportunities but have hit a wall unable to find anything in London to be honest.

Job search at the moment had 2 interview one was not succesful and the other im on final stage with bloomberg for tech support.

Would like some guidance on what i should do i know i dont mind working for free but im desperate for an opportunity to get some experience.

P.S i have done all my cert's to date with self study .. no boot camps or brain dumps.

regards

2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

The MCSE is way beyond your current real world experience level. It is seven exams, some of which even seasoned IT professionals find "tough'. I realise that recruiters advertise for entry level people with this credential but that is due to their total lack of understanding of the appropriate certification paths.