Im having a moan

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by zxspectrum, Feb 3, 2007.

1. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

OK so im a student and before people judge me i have actually worked and paid taxes.

I went to the Uni library on thurs to get some books ordered. We get £200 per year for books so i decided on a few that i needed. So i actually thought i found the isbn numbers and then took my selection to the people at the library and they ordered them.

I thought they would of got them from the likes of amazon etc, as they had loads of the books i wanted and some were a lot cheaper than buying brand new, and also i could get them in 2 or 3 days.

I spoke to some dimwit behind the counter who didnt know anything and then this bit left me dumbfounded. We have to order the books from the unis 'suppliers'. That bit wasnt that bad as i thought oh well at least they will be brand new books etc.

He then said that 3 out of the 4 books i wanted were out of stock and he didnt know when they will be re stocked, but the other book which was a thesaurus would take about 3 weeks.

How bad is that, i think im going to have a moan to the people at uni as i dont think that this is fair at all. Being given the money to be told that you have to buy from a certain place who cant be sure when something is going to be in stock and when it is in stock it takes 3 weeks.

How bad is that
    Sorry rant over
    I feel better

Eddie

Certifications: BSc computing and information systems
    WIP: 70-680
  2. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Are the Uni insisting that you have to buy the books from them with the £200?

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  3. zxspectrum