I'm going mad, Server 2003

Discussion in 'Networks' started by Ropenfold, Jan 10, 2010.

1. Ropenfold

Ropenfold Kilobyte Poster

I thought this would be simple....

I'm trying to connect a Win XP client to Windows server 2003. I have set up a domain, DNS server (not connected to the internet) and I have a DHCP server installed. The IP address is 169.254.105.188 (which might be part of the problem) on the server. All I want to do is add the win XP client to the domain. I've tried to ping the Server but to no avail and I've tried to add the Win XP computer to the domain but its coming up with an error message.

I'm not really sure where to start. I am a complete novice on server 2003 and this is the first time I've used it so forgive me if what I've just typed is a little vague.

Any ideas or pointers where I should start?

:blink

Certifications: BSC (Hons), A+, MCDST, N+, 70-270, 98-364, CLF-C01
    WIP: ISC2 CC, Security+
  2. cisco lab rat

cisco lab rat Megabyte Poster

I'd say give your server an address rather than the one that it has which is a self assigned one

Something like:

20.1.1.1 255.255.255.0

If you have DHCP installed, create a scope in the same range as the server subnet

20.1.1.10 to 20.1.1.50

DNS address: 20.1.1.1 (That of the server)

You may need to authorize the server with AD, the windows chaps here would know better.

Joe

Certifications: Yes I pretty much am!!
    WIP: Fizzicks Degree
  3. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

169.254.*.* is an APIPA address, it can only be used for very limited peer to peer networking.

If your don't have a router or a bridge the two machines must be on the same network.

Therefore APIPA is of little use when you want to have a server and DNS and DHCP etc.

You need to assign a static IP to servers that are going to be DHCP servers. The DHCP sever then dynamically assigns IP addresses and other details to clients.

4. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster