I'm a site administrator!

Discussion in 'Web Development & Web Hosting' started by tripwire45, Oct 7, 2006.

1. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

No one was more surprised than I was to discover this. I was at a staff meeting on Thursday with my team (they develop and support software apps for Micron). I'm on contract with the ISSOPS team to develop their intranet site in MS SharePoint. Four teams have combined into one so they have a lot of web information scattered all over the place.

Anyway, we had a "guest speaker" in our team meeting who's a SharePoint guru. We needed some information on managing documents and security in SharePoint (I've been learning by trial and error and surprisingly have gained quite a bit of knowledge).

She opened my eyes to quite a few features I didn't know about (or at least didn't know how they worked). She asked the team who their site admin was and they all pointed to me. I was shocked.

I pretty much consider myself a technician and documentation consultant but a website administrator? I thought about it and I guess it's true. No one knows as much about that site as I do (and after all...I put most of it together).

In the course of creating the pages, I've learned a lot about html and a smattering about CSS and JavaScript. I have a challenge coming up involving XML so I may be bugging you with some questions.

Just thought I'd share this "revelation" to you. Cheers. :)

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

Bad luck mate!

Bummer...

:biggrin

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  3. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Good luck with your future projects, James :thumbleft

Si

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  4. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Well done and good luck :)

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  5. Sandy

Sandy Ex-Member

Good luck James