I want to be an IT Technician

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by td501, Apr 23, 2016.

1. td501

td501 New Member

I should study these certificates in this order? CompTIA A+, CompTIA N+ and Microsoft MTA? I will self study for all these certificates. I done my research and having too many certificates can be harmful than beneficial so are these certificates enough to get my first job? I have no work experience, I only have some volunteering experience but that was done during secondary school.

Advice appreciated.

2. Juelz

Juelz Gigabyte Poster

Hi td501 and welcome to CF! This is a question that has been asked many times and from experience certifications can help you get a job in the way that it will get your CV a second look at, but ultimately your knowledge will get you the job, and tbh I didn't get my job solely on the knowledge I had. You have to be customer focussed in IT, It all depends on the hiring company. I would say at this stage it really doesn't matter what certificate you go for as with no experience you are going to have to get by on knowledge and a great deal of personality. To answer your question though go for an MTA, thats all I had when I got my job, having the word "Microsoft" on your CV can do wonders.

3. td501

td501 New Member

Thanks for the welcome. I'm from the UK. Is CompTIA not recognised that much in the UK? About the Microsoft MTA, theres 5 parts to the IT Infrastructure route, which ones shall I take?

*Windows Server Administration Fundamentals
    *Networking Fundamentals
    *Security Fundamentals
    *Mobility and Device Fundamentals
    *Cloud Fundamentals

It says on their website I need to pass one to get the certificate, I thought I would need to pass all?

4. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

Start at the bottom and work through them. I would go for the networking part first if I was you.