I smiled too soon

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Alex Wright, Jul 26, 2007.

1. Alex Wright

Alex Wright Megabyte Poster

Yup, exactly what the title says.

I recently (6 weeks ago) started a new job with the 3rd largest publisher in the UK. It was my first job in IT, and one that I was delighted to land (the interviewer said there'd be lots of interest in the position).

One of the attractions of the company was its reputation for investing in its staff; Indeed, on offering me the job, my supervisor had said that they'd pay for my degree course and any other certification exams that I'd also like to sit (this was great to hear as I'm currently studying the A+).

The company recently employed a new Chief Executive. This new chief executive who will remain anonymous, wasted little time in pressing forward with a programme of change. One of her first changes in the company was to employ a Chief Technology Officer (CTO). It didn't take long for the CTO to conclude that the technology that we were using was not up to standard and the management of the department was not as effective as it should be.

So, (and I'm sure some of you have guessed where I'm going with this) our new found friend began his programme of change instructing all staff to attend an urgent meeting first thing on Monday morning. This meeting was dubbed the first part of the "consultation process."

This Monday all IT staff attended the meeting - the first part of the consultation process. We were informed that there would be numerous changes: Changes to job titles, job roles, site location and more. The CTO explained why the changes were taking place and told us that further announcements would be made in a second meeting, a meeting which took place today.