I really need some advice, please please help me :(

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Kurzon, Jul 21, 2010.

1. Kurzon

Kurzon New Member

Hi CF,

Quick background info:

I'm currently a full-time student, I've completed year 1 of my BSc Computers & Electronics foundation degree, and now I can proceed to the 3 year BSc (Hons) Computer Science degree. I also have my CCNA which I got a couple of years ago when I was 17 or 18.

Situation:

I have now applied for well over 20 - 30 1st line support jobs, and still no success! I've only had one positive response from a company called Computacenter but after the interview no one has bothered to contact me and it's been almost a week now :(

My question is this, is the CS degree REALLY worth it? I feel extremely down right now, I think my CV probably sucks or something about me scares them all away :eek:

Would it be better if I went into a trainee/entry-level job such as 1st-line right now and then do my degree later on in life after I pick up experience?

The only experience I have right now is in web development, but this is more of a hobby, I make websites for friends/people/myself etc. (I'm getting very good at coding in XHTML, CSS, PHP and MySQL), I obviously also have a bit of experience in networks due to CCNA - BUT - I have NO real work experience in the real world/working environment!

It seems no matter what I do, no one wants to hire me - why??!

/rant

Last edited: Jul 21, 2010
    Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: BSc Computer Science
  2. ericrollo

ericrollo Megabyte Poster

Im in a similar situation just completed my first year of my HND; having a degree may be pointless but it will help with getting a job.

Certifications: MOS Master, A+, MCP 271
    WIP: HND, Programming, Another Job
  3. gosh1976

gosh1976 Kilobyte Poster