I always have a beginners mind...(because i am!)

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by myfunkieststrole, Oct 16, 2009.

1. myfunkieststrole

myfunkieststrole New Member

Hi Everyone,

This is a double barrelled post, *deep breath*

Firstly id like to say cheers! becuse I started not knowing a lot about computers and certforums advice helped me land that entry It job years ago!

What has changed you ask? Well I still dont know a lot about computers :D but im still moving forward and have even been offered a new job! Huzzah!

A lot of it I will be very comfortable with, i have just under 3 years experience under my belt, 1 1/2 years
    hands on fixing/diagnosis of faults/ printers etc. and another year in a remote service callcentre role.
    So the day to day stuff such as making sure the print trays are full im quite happy with!:dry

This job is going to introduce me to a networking/junior admin environment, being on patrol, and being directly
    responsible for things going wrong. Eeek! I'm excited, but also a bit nervous as to some extent im venturing into the great unknown.

I told them this at interview and there happy to teach me what i dont know (EPIC win!!!) but I would like some advice if i may.

Can anyone who has been there and done that, or if you are in a similar junior network admin role have any advice on what to brush up on? any good resources or books to read? or maybe some tips on what they wish they new when they started?

Its a dream opportunity for me and the break ive been looking for, I really want to start as I mean to go on and make a good impression, hit the ground running and such.

Thanks in advance.

Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: having a go at programming C++
  2. danielno8

danielno8 Gigabyte Poster

Hopefully you mean FIXING things rather than being the one who is breaking things :twisted: