1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hyper-V Host Server DC or Not?

Discussion in 'Virtual Computing' started by michael78, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. michael78

    michael78 Terabyte Poster

    2,085
    29
    141
    Quick question is it best to make the host OS running the Hyper-V service part of the Domain or leave it as a stand alone PC and not add it to the Domain?

    Is there a a best practice on this?


    Cheers

    Michael
     
    Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP | MCDST | MCTS: Hyper-V | MCTS: AD | MCTS: Exchange 2007 | MCTS: Windows 7 | MCSA: 2003 | ITIL Foundation v3 | CCA: Xenapp 5.0 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator on Windows 7 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician on Windows 7
    WIP: Online SAN Overview, VCP in December 2011
  2. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,485
    354
    249
    I leave it out of it so I don't have to worry about it when trashing my VM's
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
  3. michael78

    michael78 Terabyte Poster

    2,085
    29
    141
    Yeah thats what I thought. Wasn't sure if this was best practice or not. Cheers mate will leave it as a stand alone server.
     
    Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP | MCDST | MCTS: Hyper-V | MCTS: AD | MCTS: Exchange 2007 | MCTS: Windows 7 | MCSA: 2003 | ITIL Foundation v3 | CCA: Xenapp 5.0 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator on Windows 7 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician on Windows 7
    WIP: Online SAN Overview, VCP in December 2011
  4. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,485
    354
    249
    Including it just adds another layer of problems because the reason you probably have this setup is to wreck it and fix it again for your studies. That is right isn't it? You mean for your home lab?
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
  5. michael78

    michael78 Terabyte Poster

    2,085
    29
    141
    Yeah pretty much so, thinking about it was a stupid question but just thought to ask in case there was a good reason to make it the DC or part of the domain.
     
    Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP | MCDST | MCTS: Hyper-V | MCTS: AD | MCTS: Exchange 2007 | MCTS: Windows 7 | MCSA: 2003 | ITIL Foundation v3 | CCA: Xenapp 5.0 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator on Windows 7 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician on Windows 7
    WIP: Online SAN Overview, VCP in December 2011
  6. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,485
    354
    249
    No not at all mate, I bet lot of people do include it. I reckon our way is best for studies tho :biggrin
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
  7. Modey

    Modey Terabyte Poster

    2,397
    99
    154
    All of our production HYPER-V hosts are member servers.
     
    Certifications: A+, N+, MCP, MCDST, MCSA 2K3, MCTS, MOS, MTA, MCT, MCITP:EDST7, MCSA W7, Citrix CCA, ITIL Foundation
    WIP: Nada
  8. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,485
    354
    249
    Yeah makes sense in production, I took it he was referring to his home lab and therefore while he was still learning and more prone to "blow things up" ha ha
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
  9. michael78

    michael78 Terabyte Poster

    2,085
    29
    141

    Yeah it is for a home lab. Is there a reason why in production it's best to make them a member server? Is it just for security etc?
     
    Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP | MCDST | MCTS: Hyper-V | MCTS: AD | MCTS: Exchange 2007 | MCTS: Windows 7 | MCSA: 2003 | ITIL Foundation v3 | CCA: Xenapp 5.0 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator on Windows 7 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician on Windows 7
    WIP: Online SAN Overview, VCP in December 2011
  10. Phoenix
    Honorary Member

    Phoenix 53656e696f7220 4d6f64

    5,726
    175
    221
    even my ISA servers are member servers
    much to some nerds discomfort, but I prefer my servers to be member servers wherever possible

    Yes they should be member servers, but i wouldn't do that for a lab environment if that lab was for AD testing
    or make them member servers of your 'permenant' domain and just run 'test domains' on it
     
    Certifications: MCSE, MCITP, VCP
    WIP: > 0
  11. LukeP

    LukeP Gigabyte Poster

    1,194
    41
    90
    I've set up stand-alone Hyper-V host at work. Only because DC is one of virtual machines, so it doesn't seem right to have Hyper-V host that is member of a domain controlled by it's virtual machine.
     
    WIP: Uhmm... not sure
  12. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

    10,191
    299
    319
    Well you could log on locally if the DC was not available.
     
    Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Exchange 2007\2010
  13. LukeP

    LukeP Gigabyte Poster

    1,194
    41
    90
    Yep!
    It wasn't for technical reason. It just didn't seem right to me. Also while setting up this host I had only the old domain available, hence I didn't join it. Later when new DC went up as a VM I didn't see any benefits of it being a domain member (in our current setup).

    Also from my experience it's a lot easier to add server to a domain than remove it from one.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
    WIP: Uhmm... not sure
  14. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

    10,191
    299
    319
    Ahh, I see.

    I think there are pros and cons to both setups. If you had loads of Hyper-V servers then it would be handy to have them on the domain for management purposes.

    I generally add all servers onto the domain except anything in the DMZ.
     
    Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Exchange 2007\2010
  15. michael78

    michael78 Terabyte Poster

    2,085
    29
    141
    Cheers all for the replies. I think I wanted to know in both cases what the best practice is for the host. I will stick to a stand alone server for my lab but suppose can see the benefits of making it a member server in a business environment as it would be more secure being part of the domain.
     
    Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP | MCDST | MCTS: Hyper-V | MCTS: AD | MCTS: Exchange 2007 | MCTS: Windows 7 | MCSA: 2003 | ITIL Foundation v3 | CCA: Xenapp 5.0 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator on Windows 7 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician on Windows 7
    WIP: Online SAN Overview, VCP in December 2011

Share This Page

Loading...