How to move on?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Mkid, Nov 11, 2009.

1. Mkid

Mkid Bit Poster

Hello all,

I feel that its time for me to move on from my current position, I am a 1/2nd line support analyst, dealing mainly with AS400/AIX issues, with the odd infrastructure request here and there, these get passed on to the dedicated infrastructure team if not resolved.

I have had a few informal conversations with my managers to flag up my interest in moving on to the infrastructure team and have been promised that once a position arises this will happen. Our senior system admin is keen to have me on board, he has spoken to the same managers, but due to ‘’budget’’ he has been turned down 3 times.

I am not willing to wait anymore, nearly 2 years and I am still doing the same thing, so my mind is made up. I have completed the N+ and MCSA. My question is this : what kind of jobs should I apply for? I feel ready for a second line job but how do I structure my CV to make it more appealing to infrastructure jobs?

Really hoping for some good feedback as I feel lost! Any questions please ask.

Thanks.

Certifications: N+ MCSA
    WIP: Exchange
  2. dazza786

dazza786 Megabyte Poster

Start with posting your CV so we can take a look !
    no personal info tho mate!

Certifications: MCP (271, 272, 270, 290, 291, 621, 681, 685), MCDST, MCTS, MCITP, MCSA, Security+, CCA(XA6.5)
  3. Mkid

Mkid Bit Poster

Thanks for the reply Dazza.

That is my problem, I feel that my CV is not adequate for an infrastructure role, as I stated before, it is mainly AS400/AIX/EDI stuff. Am I being realistic thinking about a second line infrastructure role? Is it feasible to go from an AS400/AIX background to a second line infrastructure role?

NB: I am more than happy to post my CV if needs be, but my question was mainly to debate the feasibility of moving from one IT field to another....

Hope this makes sense.

4. Mkid

Mkid Bit Poster