how to get a salary increase

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by aushus, May 12, 2013.

1. aushus

aushus Kilobyte Poster

Hello guys

Im 21 years old and I get £30400 a year.

Im a mcitp ea and being in the IT game for 3 and half years.

I work as a technical consultant and mainly do office365 implementation as well as acess and identity implementation and management. Also server and desktop support for clients ontop of that I assist and look after our internal infrastructure and I being here 6 months and on average I work 45 hours which includes travel. How can I get an increase what should I do.

2. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Getting an increase in house can be difficult, you really have to negotiate and it can take time. Also it can sometimes be dangerous as you don't want to give your employer an impression that you're only interested in money. You've only been at your current position for 6 months and unless in your contract you've agreed to negotiate at 6 month mark, then I'd say its too early to ask for a raise. Doing overtime and putting in the extra hours is part of working in IT. On average I put in at least 10 hours overtime every week, this is not including any issues that might rise.

With 3 years experience, I'd say you're making really good money, especially at the age of 21. My recommendation would be to stick at what you're doing for at least another 2 years, you will then can easily get more money.

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  3. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

Sorry, you're 21 and already earning £30k?

You also mention that you work 45 hours which includes travel, what travel is that? Commute? Travel to customer sites?