how long did it take you to study for the OS exam compared to the core

Discussion in 'A+' started by beaker, Nov 6, 2006.

1. beaker

beaker Bit Poster

hello all,
    i started studying for A+core(2003 syll.) around April this year and reckon i'll be ready for the exam about new years. So i'll be left with about 3 months to study for the OS exam (if I pass the core!), which is less than half the time it took me for the hardware. I looked through my course text and it doesn't look anywhere near as much tho so what do you think? is it worth me cramming to take it before march? or should i stop what i'm doing now and start the 2006 syll.

thx in advance 8)

Certifications: A+, N+, Linux+
    WIP: MCSA
  2. Mr.Cheeks

Mr.Cheeks 1st ever Gold Member! Gold Member

mate - i failed the core and passed the os... its down to which you feel more comfortable in, core or os, and its also down to how much hands on experience you have...

make sure you know the objectives of the OS and book the exam, i think its best to start cramming on the last week or 2 before the exams. i still have my Core to do - failed prob a month or so, but still trying to fight on.

3. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

Which A+ book are you using?

Only the mike meyers one already assumes you have 500 practical hours under your belt.:dry

I guess you could try learnkey or transcender tests to see if your ready?8)

Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  4. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

You won't be able to pass the 2003 core by New Years, then pass the 2003 OS 3 months later because it will be retired by then. Both exams (Core and OS) have to be taken on the same version of the exam. Therefore, you must take both 2003-version exams or both 2006-version exams.