How and where to find voluntary work

Discussion in 'A+' started by tysfoot, Mar 17, 2009.

1. tysfoot

tysfoot Byte Poster

Im about half way though my A+ self study and because i have no hands on experience i would'nt mind a voluntary job working in I.T somewhere.

What sort of companies or type of work could i ask and could this be done by sending in my cv and asking for voluntary work. Its a shame i dont know anyone in the field.

If anyone has had any experiences working as a volunteer it would be good to share

Certifications: A+
    WIP: MCDST, N+
  2. Qs

Qs Semi-Honorary Member Gold Member

Best best is to circulate your CV and be clear that you're just looking for voluntary work.

Two threads found using the search function (hint hint) are:-

http://www.certforums.co.uk/forums/thread31274.html

http://www.certforums.co.uk/forums/thread29578.html

Others are out there, go digging! :)

Hope this helps,

Qs

Certifications: MCT, MCSE: Private Cloud, MCSA (2008), MCITP: EA, MCITP: SA, MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003, MCITP: EDA7, MCITP: EDST7, MCITP: EST Vista, MCTS: Exh 2010, MCTS:ServerVirt, MCTS: SCCM07 & SCCM2012, MCTS: SCOM07, MCTS: Win7Conf, MCTS: VistaConf, MCDST, MCP, MBCS, HND: Applied IT, ITIL v3: Foundation, CCA
  3. del_port

del_port Byte Poster

Don't know if it was a joke,but last time i went to the citizens advice bureau,which is a uk charity, they said did i want to do pc work for them.Might be worth a try.They knew i was doing pc repair,but i didn't ask further,with knowledge like ours it's hard to give it away totally free.

I've been doing this since the year 2000,and spent huge amounts of time already fixing pcs years ago,so to give the lot away for nothing doesn't seem right.

I have had thoughts of working for a charity abroad, in africa for example repairing all donated pcs,but it was just a brief thought.