Homemaker to Study/Job

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by confusedme, Aug 10, 2008.

1. confusedme

confusedme New Member

Hello & Wishes to everyone,

I did my Bachelors in Computer Science 2 years back. Now I am a homemaker and a mother of a 1 year old. I wish to continue my studies in MSc, but circumstances does not allow to pursue it now. Consulted number of microsoft training institutes. I got different opinions . One said to start comptia a+, the other suggested MCP. I dont have any work experience, although my primary interest is in programming( C, C++, VF).

Would be great to share your advices & suggestions in this regard.

WIP: Computia A+
  2. SuPaStA

SuPaStA Nibble Poster

I wouldnt bother with a A+, rather start with a mcp and work your way towards a Mcse.

Certifications: CCNA,MCSE,ITIL,Server+,Security+,N+...
    WIP: CCNP
  3. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Well it really depends what your goal is, as to what you should do.

If you just want to study, just buy books and study whatever interests you.

There are no certs relevant to C/C++ as far as I am aware, coding ability is all that matters.

VF ? Do you mean Visual Fortran ? :blink

The A+ and MCSE certifications are primarily for IT support or administrator positions, it never hurts to be aware of how your programs will be deployed and supported, but in general these certs are not directly relevant to programmers.

You can still do an MSc with a university part time or with the OU, they tend to be a little pricey however compared to BSc's.

4. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Hi there and welcome 8)

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  5. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF :)