Hi to all

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Grumpy Hayes, May 24, 2010.

1. Grumpy Hayes

Grumpy Hayes New Member

Hi guys Im 29 and i am looking to start self learning to gain MCSE

I have no other form of qualifications and I have been working in IT for over 10 years starting on service desk and moving on to 2nd line support.

I am doing the MCSE for 2 reasons first is get a wider understanding of MS server technology and 2nd is to prove to myself i can do it ;)

I want to progress in my current role and expand on the type of work i do on a day to day basis.

Steve

2. kevicho

kevicho Gigabyte Poster

Hi and Welcome

Might be worth doing the MCDST first(If it is XP you regularly support) which is the support certification, if thats what the core of your jobrole entails, then maybe going for MCSA if you do regular server support with windows 2003 server (if you are 2008 look at the 2008 server certs).

If you dont have the experience then theres no harm in learning the material, and then showing off what you have learned at work, this is a great way to gain a promotion or increased responsibilities so you get day to day experience (you may be doing this already 2nd line means different things at different places)

Certifying without experience isnt a great idea as others will tell you here.

The MCSE was really meant for people who are at the top of the IT chain when it comes to designing the systems, and making network wide decisions regarding Server placement, OU design, security implementations and so on, a lot of people do this and find that they cannot handle the roles as there is so much that isnt covered on the exams and also they havent built up the other skills that these exams dont test.

People with experience find exams easier, and thats for a reason :)

Good luck

Certifications: A+, Net+, MCSA Server 2003, 2008, Windows XP & 7 , ITIL V3 Foundation
    WIP: CCNA Renewal
  3. BosonMichael