Hi there everybody!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by 3en, May 11, 2006.

1. 3en

3en New Member

New to the forums, hope this isnt too much info! :unsure

I am 26 and have tought myself the basics of PC's, I have also had a lot of help from a friend who is MCSE qualified. I have been working in the role of Support Engineer for about 18 months - working with lots of various different issues from basic hardware and software to networking and internet...I feel that I now have a good knowledge of supporting the home user and I want to take it further, I have recently had a look at what is in demand in my area and what kinds of qualificaions are needed to further my career in IT. From what I see, the CISCO CCNA CCNP CCIE are the most commonly required and sought after in the work place, I think that it will be the best way of having better security to be able to get a job with a good salary. I am also aware that they are costly courses and only last for 3 years (dont know if thats true to all the CISCO Certs.) which makes me think it may be better to go a different route...maybe the N+ A+ but i see less jobs asking for those so...

Any comments would be greatly appreciated as I am at a turning point in my life - gotta get learning and take some qualifications damn it!

:iluvcf

2. Weemez

Weemez Kilobyte Poster

Welcome to CF! :biggrin

Don't expect the certs themselves to define what salary you might achieve, experience is the most important point to the employer but it seems to me that you are well on your way to gaining that with your current employer.

The A+ and N+ seem to be the most popular way for people working towards certs such as MSCE or CCNA/CCNP as it gives them a good understanding of the fundimentals required to achieve success in these topics.