Hi people

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by WalMart Roy, Apr 23, 2009.

1. WalMart Roy

WalMart Roy New Member

My name is Roy. I wuz told by a friend that I should come here to talk about IT. I am new to IT so please bear with me. I don't know that much about computers. What I do know is that I hate my job and I hate dealing with people, which is why I want to be in IT cuz you just sit in front of a computer. My friend said that I am very smart and should be an engineer so I should just shoot straight for the top. He says the CCIE pays big bucks so I wouldn't be a poor wal mart emploee anymore. Or maybe I could be a MCSE. Programming seems to hard but I'm a quick learner. It can't be that hard after all. Well im desperate to get outta walmart. I only want the top certs out their cuz i've been on the bottom for long enough. I'm running on 45 now.

Certifications: None but I want to be engineeeer soon
    WIP: MSCE and CCIE
  2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Top Poster
    of the Month

Hi Roy, welcome to the forum. I hate to be the one to break this to you but IT is just the same as any other profession in that we've all started at the bottom. No certification can enable you to bypass 1st line and entry level positions. The reason for this is that in IT, experience is whats most important. We back our experience up by passing our Exams and gaining the qualifications you speak of which does help us move up the ladder (hopefully). I think everyone will agree with me here when I say that an applicant for a job that is a MCSE or CCIE without a proven track record of on the job problem solving, almost certainly won't get the job.