Hi, I'm new to all (computers that is!)

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by loretta, Jan 14, 2007.

1. loretta

loretta New Member

Hi all,

This is a great place.

At the moment I work as a secretary and studying the A+.

I bought a course with Scheidegger for MCSA but felt there was something I needed to know beforehand. After further investigations I am now doing the A+.

I'm finding it really interesting although I'm only on Ch 3 and I now think my brain has given up completely. I think the biggest problem is remembering, I'd love any advice on tricks to remember and 'know' I know the information :blink . I have this tendency to want to understand and remember everything about the chapter before I go on!

Are there any other tests anywhere on how the CPU works, not just the types and specs?

Anyway, that's me and thanks all.

Regards,
    Loretta

Certifications: HND Computing
    WIP: BSc Honours Degree
  2. Raffaz

Raffaz Kebab Lover Gold Member

Hi, welcome to CF :)
    When i done the A+, i found the best way to remember stuff was to actually do it on the computer. So it might be worth getting hold of an old computer that you can practice taking to pieces and creating problems etc, that you can fix. As for how a CPU works, i havent a clue exactly, and to be honest its not really needed in detail to pass the A+, as long as you know the sockets and what processors fit in them, then ya good to go. There are some practice exams here
    http://www.examcram2.com/practice_exams/index.asp?rl=1

Certifications: A+, MCP, MCDST, AutoCAD
    WIP: Rennovating my house
  3. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

I'd echo Raffaz's point about not needing to know exactly how a processor works. In Mike Meyer's book it is in the 'conceptual' section rather than the 'Test Specific' section for that reason.

However - if you can master that then it helps a lot to understand some concepts introduced later.

Harry.