Hi guys/girls

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by AlphaMale, Dec 4, 2007.

1. AlphaMale

AlphaMale New Member

Finished Uni 2 years ago BSc Multimedia Technology & IT Studies and looking to learn a little more and keep up to date with technology before it leaves me :(

I currently work in IT doing web design and web development, graphic design, general IT support and teaching fellow workers basic IT skills to aid them with their work (company intranet). So as you can tell it's pretty varied from day to day, this is fine for now but I feel when the time comes and I want to step up the ladder or concentrate in one specific field I won't have enough experience to get that next job.

I enjoy web design but have noticed there is more money in development (which I also quite enjoy).

I have a friend who works in IT support and is earning £300 a day contracting for a very big firm. This is very appealing and it has crossed my mind to develop my IT support skills.

:blink ... I am confused I guess.

I am looking to start with a CIW course (paid for my my employers 8) ):

CIW v5 Foundation (Making me CIW Associate)

CIW Site Designer (Making me CIW Professional)

CIW E-Commerce Designer (Making me Master CIW Designer)

If I like what I have on to:

CIW Server Administrator

CIW JavaScript Fundamentals
    CIW Perl Fundamentals

I'm hoping the above and 3 years experience in the 'trade' and the BSc will bring me some luck. I did think about diving straight in with a MCTS but I'll research here a little more first.

I look forward to more reading.
    (I have been viewing the forum for a good couple of months now)

Certifications: BSc Multimedia Tech & IT Studies
    WIP: A+
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome :)

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator