Hi from Ireland! I need some advice

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by jpgetty, Oct 14, 2007.

1. jpgetty

jpgetty New Member

Hello people. I found this forum yesterday and it looks very interesting and helpful.

I've been unemployed for the last two years and am considering self-studying for the CompTIA A+ cert. I have no previous IT experience and know as much about computers and computing as the average man/woman in the street.

If I was to study for, say, one hour a day how long would it take me to pass the A+ exam?

If I get the cert how easy is it to get an entry-level job? What sort of work might a newcomer be doing? How much training are you normally given and what's the pay like for entry-level jobs?

Thanks in advance!

2. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Here's the thing. Every individual studies at a different pace. Some go very fast because they have the knowledge and experience, others go slower because they don't have the knowledge or experience. From what I see is that you are a beginner looking to start a career in IT. The A+ exam is one big thing to study because it consists of two exams. Software and Hardware. The book such as the Mike Meyers All-in-One is a very big book and full of information. My recommendation would be to get a hold of it and start studying and in time you will be able to answer that question for yourself. Having the A+ cert is a great way to start, it gives you a good base to work with, and progress your knowledge in IT and later specialize in something such as security, messaging, etc.