Hi Everyone

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Brooksy80, Jun 10, 2007.

1. Brooksy80

Brooksy80 Bit Poster

Evening all,

Just found this board and i'm really excited by the wealth of information available.

Initially i'm looking for opinions and advice concerning what I should do next to progress my career in IT.Hopefully in the future i'll be of assistance to newcomers. Apologies if this is a bit long but i'd like you fully understand my position.

After working on 2nd line Support for the last 5 years I have a solid (but not great) knowledge of W2K and XP desktops. I have no server experience.

My job is being off-shored at the end of the year, which is a blessing as it gives me a kick up the back side to change my life whilst rec'g a nice payoff!! :). I will then be on 3 months gardening leave. I'm planning on moving up to London so i'd like to make myself as marketable as possible.

I've moved back in with my parents so I can save plenty of cash and i've stopped drinkingy so I can really focus on upskilling and self-improvement, something i've never bothered with in the past. My job never requires overtime so I only work 35 hours a week. This means plenty of time to concentrate on studying.

I'd like to go down the self study route and set my own lab up at home. What would you recommend studying first? I'm guessing 70-270 followed by 70-290? How about Citrix? Many people have mentioned getting skilled in this.

I may be able to spend a few hours each week with my server support team, Exchange team or Citrix team. I may divide the time between the various teams. What do you think?

Many thanks in advance guys

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

I find it difficult to suggest a course of action, as clearly, with 5 years of 2nd line behind you, you are not really in a "starting out" position.