Hi, any advice?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by jim_jiminy, May 14, 2011.

1. jim_jiminy

jim_jiminy New Member

Hi,

Just found this great forum, just what I needed really....hopefully someone can give me some good advice!

I'm considering doing some IT training and hopefully widening my career prospects.

I'm 32 and currently work as a Technical Operator for a large TV, Satilitte & Comms company. My current job is working at a TV broadcaster using server based playout, ingesting, editing, QC'ing and content management. We were the first company to use a tapeless environment in UK. everythng is server based.

I have a degree in Entertainment Technology and have worked for PC Plus, PC Answers magazines in the past as an editorial assistant. I have built loads of PC systems for friends and family and really enjoy working with computers and messing with them (have a collection of retro Amigas, Atari's, various consoles, c64's, etc etc).

So, I wanted to do something a bit more interesting than I'm doing now, and get out of TV as it's not a good area to be working in for job security. I also want the potential to earn much more money (at mid 20k's now). These are the reasons why I want a job in IT.

I have dabbled a bit in website design which I really like but am I right in thinking this is saturated at the moment in terms of newcomers?

So that leaves support side of things and networks...

So here's some questions:

- What is the best way for me to proceed? - I want to train whilst I'm in my current job, then when I have the qualifcations, start in the real world (I realise pay will be low intially!)

- Which sector in IT has the most demand for employment, both here in UK and other countries such as Europe, Australia, Canada? What's something I can get into that will really give me options worldwide?