Hi all...

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Secret Squirrel, Sep 25, 2005.

1. Secret Squirrel

Secret Squirrel New Member

Looked like a friendly and very helpful forum.

I'm currently studying, part-time, for an FdSc in Applied Computing; I may take it onto degree level but the course content (so far) is a bit too broad and employers don't seem to rate degrees as much as Microsoft, Cisco certs. This is why I’ve ended up here.

I want to get up to an MCSE, with the aim of becoming a Field Service Engineer and am looking into the most suitable path. So far I've had a guy from Computeach come to visit. Seemed like a competent setup but £4950!!! I'm going to pitch it to my employer for a laugh, but I couldn't justify the outlay at this moment in time.

The most interesting thing the Computeach guy showed me was a list of pre vs. post course earnings, garnered from recently qualified students. They bore no relationship to the 'Industry' lists that they and others advertise.

What sort of income can I expect when qualified?

2. Veteran's son

Veteran's son Megabyte Poster

Welcome to the forums, Secret Squirrel! :)

Certifications: A+
    WIP: N+
  3. moominboy

moominboy Gigabyte Poster

welcome to cf mate, but do we call you secret or squirrel? :lol:

Certifications: ECDL
    WIP: A+
  4. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Hi Secret Squirrel, it's been a while since I last saw you on the telly, where have you been :biggrin

You will find lots of past threads related to earning expectations if you use the search feature. The general consensus of opinion, as I see it, is that certifications do not gaurentee high salaries. Experience doesn't gaurantee high salaries. Experience and Certifications/degrees combined with the ability to do the job consistantly well *might* eventually lead to a good salary.