Hi all, New and needing advice!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Rich0811, Jul 21, 2010.

1. Rich0811

Rich0811 Bit Poster

Hi all,

My name is Rich, 20 years old. I am completely new to the world of IT in terms of looking into certification and qualifications, ive grown up with computers from an early age and have always had an interest, so i thought why not take it further!

Due to unfortunate circumstances im not able to continue my Business degree at university. I figured this would be the perfect time to do a self study course. I have been looking into the National IT Learning Centre and have a telephone appointment with them later today.

I have done a bit of research and looked around on this forum, but im still not fully sure what would be the best route for entering the IT world and which qualifications i should look to be gaining first. So was wondering what others would recommend and also what is the most popular qualifications people tend to go for.

I have been preparing questions last night and also today for my appointment later, im not sure if theres anything im missing which i should be asking the Careers advisor later today, If anyone has any important questions i should be asking and can raise them here it would be greatly appreciated along with any further advice about the world of IT. :biggrin

Sorry for the long essay, thanks for reading and i will look forward to using this forum more

Rich,

EDIT: Thinking of going down the MCSA route then onto MCSE. Would it be recommended to start off with a MCDST before going onto the MCSA course?

Last edited: Jul 21, 2010
    WIP: A+
  2. musa2006

musa2006 Bit Poster

Hi Rich, welcome to the forum.

I am also a little new to the IT industry, i have also done some research... but be careful of Training Providers that promis you the world...

I joined with Joskos and have a BAD experience.

I think it depends what you good at, and what you enjoy doing.