Hi all.. need some advice on IT support.

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by antisanta, Feb 6, 2013.

1. antisanta

antisanta New Member

Hello all!

I'l set the scene. I currently work in retail and there is a job coming up soon that is a split-role including a IT system support role. Should I get it, I want to use that experience to eventually jump ship to a full system support role. Along with the experience I was thinking about going back to college to get a qualification in IT support.

I went to an open evening at the college tonight and to be honest i'm not convinced it's worth doing. I think it will be the basics of IT hardware and customer support, stuff that I already have experience in from working in retail and building my own PC's. Do you guys think it's worth doing? It's 2 years, one night a week.

The other option is to get certified during the systems role in work from home. I've been looking at CompTIA A+ to begin with and then try to advance on to Network+. Do you think that them two certificates coupled with the experience I would get from first line support in work (albeit basic stuff) would be enough to land me a full-time first line IT support role.?

My plan is to begin from the bottom, then as I gain experience, complete other certificates and work my way up but i'm having trouble figuring out where to start. I think it would be easier for me to just study from home and do the CompTIA certs.

TL;DR Where to start a career within system support!?

Thoughts and help would be appreciated!

Many thanks in advance!

Brian

2. reverb

reverb Byte Poster