Hi all! I am new here, looking for some info..

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by pyro, Jan 31, 2007.

1. pyro

pyro New Member

I'v been looking around a bit but I am not much of a lurker...sorry if I asked already answered questions!

I have droped out of computer science at the uni (don't flame me dudes! lol), I needed just one exam to pass to final year but, it took me 4 years to realise I was training to do something I didn't like. Too bad for me! I am sure some of you know about comp sci, it's a lot of everything in it, very broad, and at times too much theory and no practical stuff at all. I have been using a computer for a few years now, since 99, I guess I know what most people know, installing windows, troubleshooting, whatever goes wrong I can usualy fix it.

I am guessing a career after MCDST is working to troubleshoot computers, as a technitian, right? I don't want to be programming decryption algorithms from 9-5, I had enough of that :dry heh

I called a couple of it training companies, they quoted me an MCDST at around £2k! No way I am paying that kind of money! From what I gather, if I want to do it by myself, I can pick the 271, and 272 books for around £60ish? Even less used...then another £230 for the exams if I don't use the discount vouchers some people talk about, that's £290 in total, but is that MCDST certified? What are the 290 and 291 exams that some users talk about?

Now I have untill August to be MCDST certified, and I don't want to spend more than £500 at it, if that's possible...?

Thanks guys :)

2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

Hi Welcome to CF!

I can understand your opinion on Computer Science when i first started i was on a degree path - 2 years and and after studying C++ Data Structures for 10 weeks I said no way im doing this for another 2 - I applied to Uni's in the Uk and Im now doing Computer Networks long story why i didnt do Computer Networks from the start (for political reasons i couldnt! :biggrin ).