Help with Studying Tips and Guides.

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by cheerspal, May 8, 2009.

1. cheerspal

cheerspal New Member

Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone could help me with what the tips and tricks they use when studying?

I have been working for the past 8 years and am totally out of practice study wise. I need to get MCSA then my MCSE to further my career and potentially\hopefully more income.

Over the past 2 weeks nothing really has been going in. I read a chapter, then read it again and take notes and then do the questions at the back of each chapter.

I am just wondering what everyones habits are when it comes to studying?

Do you use a timetable?

Do you listening to music, classical or otherwise?

What do you use to keep you motivated?

How long did you spend studying on each MCSE exam roughly?

Sorry for all the questions but this forum seems like the place to ask all the above.

Any help appreciated,

B

:)

2. Cockles

Cockles Megabyte Poster

Hi mate

Everyone is different when it comes to retention of information, but certain tricks seem to work universally.

Essentially speaking, when you learn something, it goes into your short term memory. That then has to be committed to your long term memory in order to recall it later.

I personally find it useful to make notes on whatever it is I'm reading (so taking the information in visually), then I recite them back as if I am a lecturer teaching this to a class, therefore reinforcing the information through audio too. It helps to learn as you are essentially taking the informtion in via two stimuli.

Whilst you are reciting back, you also just instinctively create cues that enable you to remember key facts, such as examples of application, scenrios, like for like comparisons etc. Makes it a lot easier to recall later, as in a sense you are making more visual references to refer to