Problem Help needed for putting images on a website

Discussion in 'Web Development & Web Hosting' started by Andrew95, Mar 16, 2011.

1. Andrew95

Andrew95 Bit Poster

I am learning to design web pages. I know how to code in HTML, I understand CSS and I have used dreamweaver in the past. I would like to learn how to place thumbnail images in a picture gallery which would blow up to a much larger size on rollover. I would also like to protect the blown up images so that they cannot be faithfully copied in a high resolution. Do you have any resources that will help me in simple simple terms or can you simplify this process for me in order to help me

Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: CCNP CCDP CCIE
  2. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

Well, I'm no HTML expert, but there are loads of free gallery plug in's out there that seem to mostly be PHP based and need a mysql db to run. That may be overkill for what you are trying to achieve though.

As for prepping the images, there are loads of utils out there, but one I particularly like is Faststone image viewer. Yes it's primarily a viewer, but it also has some really good batch image modification tools (like taking a whole range of images and converting the resolution down quite low). You can also batch watermark them to get your copyright on the image etc...

I tend to make my images at the most 640x480 and then make sure there is extensive watermarking. (I do event photography part time). The lengths some people will go to though to get an image and try and photoshop the watermarking out, just to avoid paying a few quid is quite amazing! :)

Certifications: A+, N+, MCP, MCDST, MCSA 2K3, MCTS, MOS, MTA, MCT, MCITP:EDST7, MCSA W7, Citrix CCA, ITIL Foundation
    WIP: Nada
  3. Andrew95

Andrew95 Bit Poster