Hello

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by ~Luke, Jan 15, 2011.

1. ~Luke

~Luke New Member

Hello All,

I have been reading these forums for a while now trying to decide what to course to self-study.

I have been working in IT for many years and I have covered all grounds apart from programming although I can understand and do a little web programming (HTML, PHP).

However, that said I have no qualification/certification what-so-ever IT related. I have got IT jobs purely based on my experience. I would like to say that considering this I think I have done alright but now I want to get some certifications behind me.

I would eventually like to get qualified to do Networking although I understand I should start with the basics such as CompTia A+ and/or MCITP and then work from there.

I need some help/advice on deciding whether to start with the CompTia A+ or MCITP (Windows 7).
    Windows 7 came to us in Winter 2009 I believe and the latest CompTia A+ is 2009 - I understand that each will need to be renewed in time so that we can stay up-to-date etc.

With CompTia A+ I was wondering whether it is worth doing the 2009 course or wait until 2012 (just one more year) for the newest release therefore being up-to-date and not doing a refresher?

Are the refreshers easy? Is it alot of studying all over again.

Also, what are your views on MCITP/CompTia A+ - Any recommendations on what path I should take?

CompTia A+ then Network+, or MCITP + CompTia A+ then Network+ ?

All I want is to get a well paid job (as does everyone) and I'll work up to getting higher thus hopefully earning more.

Any advice/views appreciated,

Many thanks,

Luke

Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
    WIP: A+
  2. Georgiesickjitz

Georgiesickjitz Byte Poster

welcome.